One Room Challenge Week 2

So, we’re one week in and I’m feeling pretty good about this room now. This could all change, of course…!!

Last Thursday, I showed you my inspiration board and sorta kinda what the room I was working with looked like. You can read that post here. Here’s the board and I did more scrounging and found an image of the room from our final walk-through of the house…the fact that it was actually empty was shocking!

DSC00398
lovely ceiling fan, no?

and here’s where I want to take it:

ellebright designs ORC Board

I already had a few things that I knew I wanted to use in the space, the main thing being the rolls of that Schumacher buffalo check wallpaper that I’d been hoarding for a couple of years!!

165cfe3cbe22b8a3952081245936b7d0
Schumacher Papercheck

When I was trying to decide what I wanted our new guest room to look like, I went to old trusty, Pinterest. Now, those that know me, know that I keep a pretty chock full o’ inspiration set of pinboards, organized by room. So I had tons of ideas to pull from. Some of my favorites for this space included these:

I have loved this image of Heather Chadduck’s former bedroom for-like-ever.heatherchadduckbedroom

And apparently, I just really like her style, (who doesn’t though?), because I also pulled her newer bedroom, as featured in Southern Living a few years ago

Heatherchadducknewbedroom
Heather Chadduck via Southern Living

I also knew I wanted to relocate my collection of brown and cream transferware into the guest room. They’ve lived a happy life in our dining room, but as my tastes have changed, I crave seeing different style in the main rooms of our home. Of course, I wasn’t going to part with my little collection- I still love it, but it’s not something I want to see every day. Perfect solution: GUEST ROOM!

This image jumped out at me because of both the transferware and the chocolate buffalo check.

Southern Accents
via The Enchanted Room, from Southern Accents

This entire kitchen by Lauren DeLoach was a major inspiration that has carried over into other projects of mine, but I pulled this image of the dining area because it had just the right blend of traditional and casual. Plus, I remember reading a quote of hers in the Traditional Home article about giving up the fight with her clients who really wanted a tv in their eat-in kitchen. I love it. As designers, we’ve all been there, but like anything else, you learn to choose your battles and that is not one to fight.  I mean, we live in our homes and the reality is that, for most of us, tv is a part of our life. Why try to cover that up or act like your home is a museum?!  I’m all for making a space beautiful, but isn’t it really and truly about living life comfortably in a beautiful space and being surrounded by things that we love?  So, you guessed it, a tv is going in the guest room (duh!) and Ima gonna pretty it up a bit!

laurendeloach
Lauren DeLoach via Traditional Home

So, now you can see where some of my ideas came from.

One of the biggest things that had to get accomplished in the room was having it painted and having the wallpaper installed and that was scheduled to happen today, but…as luck would have it, my installer had an opening and came out LAST Friday and wham, bam, boom and pow, that ish is ALL DONE.

And y’all, let me just say that it is good. Like REALLY  good.  I cannot wait to show you the whole thing, but I don’t want to reveal too much, too soon! So, this is all you get…a teeny tiny little snippet:

20151009_165520
bad lighting and I don’t even care because my face is MELTED!

There’s still TONS to do, but at least some of the biggest things are already in place. Still on my list:

  • add moulding and trim out bookcases
  • add doors to bookcases
  • finish clearing out the room
  • finalize the bedding
  • reupholster the chair seat
  • refinish the vintage dresser
  • refinish the side table
  • source accessories and zhush the shelves (leftover wallpaper?!)
  • have bases made for the nightstands
  • who’s going to win the chandelier/fan debate?
  • Rug!
  • drapery hardware revamp
  • Install! (furniture, accessories, art, drapery, etc. etc. etc.)

Be sure to follow along on Insta and thanks for stopping by!

Check out the other amazing participants here!

-Lesley

6 thoughts on “One Room Challenge Week 2

  1. Looking great!! Is the wallpaper on the ceiling?? So good! How funny is this that I’m channeling my inner Heather Chadduck too for my guest room!! I’m basically copying the whole bamboo curtain rod thing and that one SL image of her guest room is my inspiration!! I’ll blog later this morning about it. That is what I love about design – one image inspires so many and it’ll be neat to see the directions we take!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

