One Room Challenge Week 3

Welcome back!  It’s the start of week 3 of the { One Room Challenge } and I’ve been a busy bee over here, y’all!

20151021_140809
CHECK out that ceiling! (sorry, I had to…)

The moulding went up to border that buffalo check! {Can I just say that I LOVE an air compressor and nail gun?! Thank you.}  And crown was added to the existing IKEA Billy bookcases.

Oh, and I had EXACTLY the right amount of the wallpaper left to have it added to the upper sections of the Billys – total lagniappe moment! (you can just barely see it in the pic above.)

Why only the upper section? Because, the bookcases are also getting doors added to them, which I picked up at IKEA on Tuesday.  The doors will {hopefully} dress them up a bit and help to conceal some not so decorative storage.

Bad news was, since my Billys are around 6 years old, they don’t match the new finish…GUH.  So, I primed them yesterday morning.  I’ll be getting the paint tinted to match later today…then done and done-er!

20151021_091143

On a happy note, these pretty little T-pulls arrived for the doors and I think they’re just perfect! They’re solid brass and weighty. I like that they are just a bit more modern and feel slightly equestrian.knob

Other projects this week have included refinishing an antique French hat rack to give it a faux tortoise shell bamboo look:

20151002_095902

This was midway through the art sesh.  I added some metallic gold and then sealed it with a clear gloss. I’m pretty happy with how it turned out!

20151021_140729

I got this buff check sham back from my seamstress and picked up these pretty patterned sateen sheets. I need to drop this herringbone throw blanket off to be embroidered later this week! And what you can’t see is the dresser that these items are sitting on…

We picked up a vintage French Provincial dresser, that had belonged to my husband’s mama when she was a girl, and gave it a new life by refinishing it.  Since his mom is no longer with us, it’s nice to have something of hers with us and put to use in our home.

 I love that we are using several pieces in this space that hold sentimental value, including a 4-poster pine bed that my Gram gave to me.

Still TONS to do, but at least we are making some headway!

  • add moulding and trim out bookcases
  • add doors to bookcases (bought, primed, painted and hung)
  • finish clearing out the room
  • finalize the bedding
  • reupholster the chair seat
  • refinish the vintage dresser
  • refinish the side table
  • source accessories and zhush the shelves (leftover wallpaper?!)
  • have bases made for the nightstands
  • paint vintage chandelier (the chandy won out!)
  • Rug?
  • drapery hardware revamp
  • Install! (furniture, accessories, art, drapery, etc. etc. etc.)

Thanks so much for stopping by and please be sure to check out all of the invited participants and other linking participants!! There are some really fabulous rooms being created!

Shout out to Paige at The Pink Clutch Blog and Tricia at Suburban Bitches for including me in their round up posts this week!!  Y’all are the best!  XO

-Lesley

5 thoughts on “One Room Challenge Week 3

  1. Lesley, I’m swooning over the moulding and the buffalo check! I love your inspiration and your plan and impressed with all your DIY! Ikea Billy Bookcase is always a good budget friendly find that you can transform. OMG, that French hat rack is going to be so chic! So glad to have found you thru ORC! Let’s do this! XOXO, Sarah

    Like

Leave a Reply

