One Room Challenge Week 4

Holy Cannoli! How is it already week 4?!  I guess it’s true what they say about time flying…?

I’m happy to report that I’m making steady progress and a few items were able to get checked off the list!

I got this chair’s seat recovered.

20151028_192024
crappy phone pic due to technical difficulties. mea culpa.

Yes, I used Celerie Kemble’s Betwixt again. I like it, so sue me.  I also love that I’m getting to use this chair.  It’s been stashed in my hoard for almost 5 years! It’s an antique repro from Wisteria and I think it’s darling. Oh, and the doors are painted and up on the Billys! Woot!

The drapery hardware went up and so did the panels. (Still working on the finials, though…)

20151028_192002
crappy phone pic due to technical difficulties.

I used these espresso dupioni silk panels from Pottery Barn.  5 of them used to hang in our master bedroom, but have been stored for a couple of years. And that,  dear people, is why I’m a hoarder! You never know when something might come back around and into good use! I mean, $180 each and they were in a storage closet!  I love how they look layered over the custom roman shades. Cozy, right? I’m planning to add some trim to the leading edge before the final reveal. It’s a little plain-Jane now, but I’m glad I went with solids instead of adding in more pattern.  I think this little guest room has more than enough pattern as it is!!

HELLOOOOOO BUFFALOOO!

I’ve had that old Erasure song playing on a loop…in my head…I just can’t get enough, I just can’t get enough, I just can’t get enough, I just can’t get enough…Y’all get the idea, right?

Any-the-heck-way-

This little beaut of a bracket also arrived during the past week. She’s Italian, (like me), so I know she’s good people, but came to me via Hollywood, (so you know she’s got a colorful past). I think she coordinates quite nicely and looks like a match made in heaven with my little wooden Italian box.

20151022_154912

I’m planning on putting my new favorite transferware plate on her…

$_1

Eeeek!  Squirrel and acorns and oak leaves?!  Happy clap!! (This Alpha Gam still likes to rep it!)

But, I still gotta work out the exact layout. Have a preference?20151025_16181020151025_162259I’m leaning towards the second one.

And finally, if you follow me on Instagram, you probably saw my posts earlier in the week. One showed the wall lamps that went up on the bookcases:

20151021_140847

I would have loved to use the Visual Comfort Boston library sconces, but I think these bad boys from Lowes offer a lot of look for under $50 each! Holla!

And then the other evening, I showed you this:

20151026_151213

I was about to get my craft on and transform this cute little bamboo and rattan plant stand/side table, (graciously donated to the cause by my dear mama- Thanks again, Mom!!)  

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to find the right sized antique tortoiseshell bamboo plant stand/side table of my dreams that didn’t cost over $1800! I mean, let’s be real. I have IKEA bookcases in here…so that wasn’t happening!!

X
via 1st Dibs $1875
XXX_BambooTable2_1
via 1st Dibs $2500

So, I got out my paints and brushes again and I said my prayers…And now here’s mine:

20151028_164348

Not too shabby, eh? And I saved myself at least $1800!

Well, loves, that’s all for this post. 4 weeks down, 2 more to go!!

Thanks for stopping by and go check out the other participants!!!

-Lesley

8 thoughts on “One Room Challenge Week 4

  1. Oh my I’m loving it all and you know I’m a huge fan of vintage and bamboo! Ditto on the tortoise shell finish, just amazing talent! Maybe you can come over and help me with some when this all finished! Love seeing your progress each week and can’t wait to see your big reveal! Let’s do this! Sarah

    Like

  2. Way to be thrifty girl! I love what you are doing in here and agree, the 2nd layout with the dishes looks great! This week 4 business is for the birds, I need another week, maybe we can ask Linda to change it to the 7 week orc?

    Like

Leave a Reply

